The excitement of a new sewing machine AND a new blog

>I decided to start this blog to document my ever-growing obsession with crafts, in particular crocheting, sewing, knitting and jewellery-making. My love affair with crochet started at Christmas 2008 when my fiance’s sister showed me all the fantastic things she’d been making. After a bit of a halting start I managed to pick it up using Debbie Stoller’s Stitch N Bitch Crochet which is a great book. So far I’ve made hats, scarves, bags, gloves, a purse and I am currently working on a large project for a present.

Knitting quickly followed crocheting, although I haven’t picked that up as easily and it’s been put aside for the time being. I also re-discovered sewing and pulled out my grandmother’s old sewing machine to find it only does one stitch.

Which brings me to yesterday: after spending quite a while searching for a new sewing machine that wouldn’t break my (very small) budget but that had all the features I would need for a good couple of years, I finally found the perfect one on eBay. It’s a Brother XL220 (can’t find the link) and it is an ‘A Grade’ which means it has either been opened and returned or has had a slight manufacturing fault that has been repaired. It arrived yesterday and I set it up as soon as I got home from work, and it is fantastic! So easy to use, even comes with a needle threader, and I managed to easily line my latest Fat Bottomed Bag with only a couple of mishaps (caused by me, not the machine). Can’t wait to receive the two books I’ve ordered: Sew U and S.E.W. and begin sewing some clothes!

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Handmade, Sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The excitement of a new sewing machine AND a new blog

  1. Pingback: sew mama, sew | Not Like the Picture

Leave a Reply

