Reupholstering chairs

>This weekend we went to John Lewis to do our wedding gift list, and I visited their haberdashery department for the first time. The shop near us has a great haberdashery with lots of different yarns, threads and great fabric. I have been meaning to reupholster our dining room chairs almost since we got them from a kind person through Freecycle, and this was the perfect excuse to get some great fabric.

I got two meters of purple cotton to cover 6 chairs, and actually it was only slightly too much. I also got a staple gun (getting the right staples was a nightmare involving visitng Hobbycraft and Paperchase just before closing time).

All I did to cover the chairs was unscrew the seat covers, take off one of the existing pieces of fabris, cut a square of new fabric the same size and staple it over the existing cover. It was really easy but quite time-consuming and tiring to do. Anyway, I think it ended up looking really good and fits great with our dining room decor.

BEFORE: stained, old-fashioned fabric that doesn’t go with our decor!


AFTER: Lovely new purple fabric that fits in perfectly


I like this fabric so much that I’m thinking about making a tablecloth to go with the seat covers. Not sure how easy this will be so I’ll have to investigate it!

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reupholstering chairs

  1. Tracy says:

    >Looks great. I've got virtually the same chairs, so you've inspired me to have a go. Well done….

Leave a Reply

