Harry Potter

>Not a very original title, but we went to see HP and the Half-Blood Prince last night. I was a bit in the dark, because although I’ve read all the books and seen the films, I had forgotten what happened in the last one. Nevertheless it was really good, very well-done and much darker than the previous ones, while retaining the funny parts to make sure it was not too serious for a younger audience.

The film opened with Harry in a cafe attempting to chat up a waitress, a good nod to the fact that the cast and characters are growing up. Although the acting of the main characters has vastly improved since the first film, I still cringed at a few various points where responses seemed a bit stilted or overdone.

The cinematography was amazing as always, with swooping views of Hogwarts and nicely-done CGI (this made me laugh when I thought about the early days of CGI and how things have moved on since then!). I felt a bit cheated that more was not made of the story of the Half Blood Prince, as I think this could have been really interesting, but obviously some things had to be cut down to make the film a manageable length.

One thing I really loved in the film was the amazing array of handknitted items on show! I absolutely covet Hermione’s grey knitted hat (and have queued this pattern on Ravelry ready for when my knitting skills improve), and there were also some great scarves and jumpers. I would also love to try to make Luna’s lion hat which made everyone laugh out loud, but think that might be a bit of a stretch!

Other things happening this week:

– We are in negotiations to buy a new house (exciting and scary!)
– Going to Leamington Spa this weekend for a friend’s birthday (exciting!)
– Found a blog by my favourite graphic artist – new compelling reading! Lucy Knisley

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Harry Potter

  1. KL says:

    >Ooh, I long to go & see HP6! My daughter went last night, with a group of friends, but I was not allowed to go. It is uncool to have your mother with you when you are 14! I will go later.

Leave a Reply

