Cake bites (take one)

Vanilla cake bites

I took a cake pop course last week and it inspired me to try making cake pops at home. They are the perfect present or goodies to take into work, which is my plan next week as it’s the last week before our Christmas break.

Cake pops are a simple concept – basically, you mix baked cupcakes with buttercream icing. The possibilities, however, are only as limited as your imagination, as demonstrated in Bakerella’s ‘Cake Pops’ book (which is on its way to me from Amazon as I type).

I’m starting off small – in more ways than one. I decided to make mini cake pops, or cake bites. I saw these recently made by our local cake maker extraordiare, Stuart Thornley, and they looked amazing. For decoration, I’ll use melted milk and white chocolate to coat the cake bites, then roll them in a variety of sprinkles and sugar strands.

To make things more interesting, I made a mix of plain and red vanilla cupcakes. I was aiming for red velvet, but in order to only have to make one giant batch of cake mix, I just added lots of red food colouring to the vanilla mix.
Red cake bites

As you can see, I got a bit carried away with the food colouring, but I think it looks cool! Once the baked cupcakes had cooled, I mixed up a batch of buttercream icing (badly, but that doesn’t matter for cake pops) and gradually combined it with crumbled cake. The cake crumbling took the longest time and was quite frustrating, as the cakes were quite moist. This is great for cupcakes but not so good for crumbling. Next time, I will make sure the mix is drier and possibly add more baking powder, so there’s more air in the cake.

Then I shaped the mixture into little balls, and stuck 3.5″ lolly sticks dipped in melted Cadbury’s Dairy Milk in each one. I put them on a plate and in the freezer, and I’ll probably leave them until Sunday to decorate. The more frozen they are, the easier they are to coat in chocolate and the coating looks more smooth too as it dries instantly.

To make things more interesting, I baked the red cupcakes in a silicon heart mould that my husband bought for my birthday in August. It’s the first time I’ve used it and the cakes turned out great (if a little overdone). I’ll definitely be using the mould again!
Heart cake 4

This also meant that I could do this with two of the cakes, and surprise my husband with a beautiful afternoon tea – an added bonus!

Heart cake 2

 

Watch this space to see how the finished cake bites turn out!

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Food, Handmade, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

