Baba style

[aviatrix hat]

It’s really flipping hard to find nice clothes for baby boys. This seems very unfair and sexist: just because I have a son doesn’t mean I want dress him in boring white or light blue sleepsuits all the time – and let’s face it, with an average of three outfit changes each day, I need to have a little fun with his clothes.

[dinosaur sleepsuit from baby gap]

I’ve never been one for gender stereotyping, and I like robots and dinosaurs as much as the next geek, so these motifs are perfect for our baba. I would love it if he turns out to be a palaeontologist or robot engineer.

[robot sleepsuit from baby gap]

I am lucky enough to both knit and have lovely friends who knit beautiful items for baba. Although I haven’t got much knitting done in the last 2 months, I did a fair amount of baba-knitting while pregnant…but now that baba is not-so-little, he has outgrown much of it before even a first wear!

[demne cardi]

 Recently I’ve been lusting after baby clothes by European brands – DPPAM, Vertbaudet and Bobo Choses as well as the beautifully-designed outfits from Nordic Mart. Baba’s night feedings also offer prime Etsy-scouring time and I constantly marvel at the creativity on display.

[sweet norwegian baby cap]

I’ve also been scouring each and every TK Maxx I come across, for unique ‘designer’ pieces at a fraction of the original cost. My favourite find so far is a romper and blanket set with pirate illustrations and phrases. Alas, baba has yet to wear this clean long enough for me to capture a photo.

[milo vest by jane]

When all else fails, I stick on a onesie, socks and hat – like so. Job done!

[zzzzzzz]

Follow my <a href=”http://pinterest.com/elliethouret/baba-style/&#8221; target=”_blank”>Pinterest board</a> to see more of my baba style favourites.

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Baby T. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

