inheritance tracks

I’m a big fan of the ‘Inheritance Tracks’ segment on Radio 4. If you’re not familiar with it, guests choose the track they remember from their childhood, and the track they’d like to pass on to their children. I often wonder which I’d choose if I was asked on the programme (unlikely though that is!).

Music has always been such a big part of my life, perhaps unsurprisingly as I had two music-obsessed parents and now have a music-obsessed husband. Many of my favourite memories are associated with a particular track and I often imagine that my daily life is accompanied by a soundtrack.

Narrowing favourite tracks down to a select few is a tortuous game that we enjoy playing, in the style of ‘Desert Island Discs’. But choosing the track I’d pass on to my son, and the one I remember from my childhood is even more difficult: what do you base the selection on? Do you choose something poignant, send a message to your children? Or do you choose something fun and whimsical, reminiscent of your own childhood?

Here are my own inheritance tracks – I’d love to hear what you choose!

From my childhood: Sidi Boumediene – Khaled


If there was a soundtrack to my childhood, it would be full of Khaled tracks. This one in particular, while not my favourite of his, reminds me of dancing around our living room with my dad as a child. It brings back happy memories of spending time with my dad, and dancing with reckless abandon in the way only children do, before becoming conscious that people might be watching!

To pass on to my children – Here Comes the Sun – The Beatles

I love this song, out of all of the Beatles’ I think it’s my favourite. I think it’s simple and un-showy and underrated. It’s hard to explain why I love it, but for now at least, it’s the song I’d choose to pass on.

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

