review: the little underbank tearoom

1097826_10101073858692349_1259113742_o

I absolutely love afternoon tea. Whoever came up with the concept of a meal of sandwiches and cake between lunch and dinner is a genius. Since afternoon tea seems to be coming back into fashion, there are lots of places around here offering it, and I’ve made it my mission to try them all.

The Little Underbank Tea Room in Stockport has recently opened, offering tea and homemade food in a delightful, quirky setting. One of my friends spotted a deal for a discounted afternoon tea, so we decided to check it out. She has two children, and I have Lucas, so it was a bit of a squeeze getting in with them all! There was only one high chair, but luckily I had a sling with me so I managed to tether Lucas to a dining chair.

We received a very warm and friendly welcome upon arrival – although there was a bit of confusion about our booking, it was quickly sorted and there was no issue. The servers were accommodating of our children and helpful in moving my friend’s double pram around. I asked for a glass of iced water and it arrived in an unusual vintage glass, beautifully placed on a flowery saucer – a lovely touch!

Afternoon tea comprised of elegant rectangle sandwiches (egg mayo, cream cheese and cucumber, ham, and roast beef), scones, petits fours and a slice of cake. It was beautifully presented on mismatched vintage crockery and a pretty cake stand. The sandwiches were very uniform, which I like in an afternoon tea; perfect rectangles with the crusts cut off. My favourite was the cream cheese and cucumber; Lucas’s was the roast beef: he was extremely disappointed when we’d eaten that one.

The scones were served with jam and cream, generous portions of each. They were tasty and well-sized and had the higgeldy-piggeldy homemade look that I love. Lucas approved of the scones, too, although tired of them quickly and went back to demanding more roast beef (unfortunately, there still wasn’t any left).

After wolfing down all that, we didn’t have much room left for petits fours and cake! As anyone with a child will know, you eat quick or you don’t eat at all. Luckily, the servers wrapped up the leftovers for us to enjoy this evening. As we were finishing up, the tea room started to get quite busy but didn’t feel cramped and service wasn’t affected. We met who we think were the two owners, and two servers, all of whom were very friendly without being intrusive.

The tea room has a rather extensive menu, as well as afternoon tea, and I’d like to sample lunch there another time. I would definitely recommend the afternoon tea, although there was masses so perhaps I should skip lunch next time!

Ratings

Food: 9/10

Service: 7/10

Ambience: 7/10

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Food, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

