1.30am on the children’s ward

It is 1.30am. I am on my fourth lap of the children’s ward, I’m chasing my toddler, and I haven’t been to sleep yet. My child, who is supposed to be seriously ill, is running down the corridor shouting “Man! Monkey! Lions! Birdies! More birdies!”

Every time we pass the nurses’ station I duck my head, feeling like a complete fraud for taking up a room. Lucas, clearly not feeling the same awkwardness, shouts “Hewwow!” and waves jauntily as we go round yet another time. He’s not tired yet, apparently the hospital looks remarkably like an amusement park to children.

Around we go again. I stifle a yawn and try to summon some enthusiasm for the “badybird” – we say hello to it for a fifth time…

Despite it all, I wouldn’t change a thing. Being up with my baby, even at this hour, is a gift that I can’t take for granted. Only hours before I watched as doctors worried over him, his tiny body hooked up to beeping monitors.

We begin our sixth lap. As he looks up at me, eager to race around, I grab his hand and grin.

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Baby T, Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1.30am on the children’s ward

  1. MC says:

    You had me worried for a moment – I thought he must be back in again! Then I recognised the mural and thought this must be a retrospect. In any case, it’s good writing.

Leave a Reply

