the fault in our stars

“It was unbearable. The whole thing. Every second worse than the last. I just kept thinking about calling him, wondering what would happen, if anyone would answer. In the last weeks, we’d been reduced to spending our time together in recollection, but that was not nothing: The pleasure of remembering had been taken from me, because there was no longer anyone to remember with. It felt like losing your co-rememberer meant losing the memory itself, as if the things we’d done were less real and important than they had been hours before.”

I’ve just finished reading ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ by John Green. I thought it was an excellent book, about a young girl with terminal cancer who meets a boy, a cancer survivor whose leg has been amputated.

I loved the whole book, but this particular paragraph resonated with me. This time ten years ago I met a boy. Seven months later, he died. This paragraph describes exactly how I felt, and still sometimes feel, and it was good to reflect on my experience from a distance after all that time.

If you haven’t heard of John Green, check him out. ‘Will Grayson, Will Grayson’ is another good one of his.

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Musings, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

