review: fangirl

‘Fangirl’ by Rainbow Rowell is the story of identical twins Cather and Wren in their first year of university. The story is fairly ordinary – a young adult coming-of-age novel about the twins finding themselves, enjoyable and entertaining but not particularly memorable.

What drew me in and stayed with me after I’d finished the novel was the vivid and believable characters that Rainbow Rowell has created. They are vulnerable and deeply flawed, which only makes them more endearing to the reader. Rowell has us rooting for the secondary characters, even when they hurt Cather, the protagonist.

Rowell’s writing flows naturally and realistically, and the interludes of made-up fanfic are just as captivating as the novel itself. This is a writer who is comfortable with her subject matter and who cares about her characters – she’s rooting for them right along with us.

This book will appeal to fans of fast-paced, cool-but-not-too-hip young adult fiction such as John Green, David Levithan and Rachel Cohn.

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to review: fangirl

  1. Word Lily says:

    I haven’t read Fangirl yet, but I’ve read Rowell’s first two books, and I’m a huge fan! Love her books. (Bonus: She’s from my state!)

    • I’ve just purchased ‘Eleanor and Park’ for the Kindle, to read while nursing L – can’t wait to start it! I like learning more about Nebraska too, since I know nothing about it!

Leave a Reply

