lucasgems

You are two and a half and the world is a fascinating and confusing place. You are extremely articulate for your age, so much that we sometimes forget how little you still are.

You are perceptive and very sensitive to people’s moods, both adults and other children. You become upset if others around you seem upset, and you tell us, “I’m a bit sad.” You enjoy comforting us and tell me, “S’alright Mummy,” if you sense I’m feeling a bit down.

You’re affectionate and have this week started telling us, “I really love you.” You also tell your baby brother and sister, “I really love him.” (You have not yet learned to differentiate between ‘him’ and ‘her’.) You think the twins are “gorgeous” and you love observing them and commenting on their actions (“he’s trying to touch me!”).

I hear our idioms come from your mouth and it makes me smile. You have picked up a lot of words and phrases from your four grandparents over the past few months, too (I suspect you got ‘gorgeous’ from Grandma). Some of my commonly-used phrases that you come out with, I got from my own parents and grandmas, and I like hearing them from you – “that’ll be nice, won’t it!”

You thoroughly enjoy having “a little talk” with your dad before you drop off to sleep. Your favourite topics are “the train museum” (you recall every detail of your birthday trip to the National Rail Museum – probably because you’ve heard about it so many times!) and “the dinosaur museum at Grandma and Grandad’s house” (the Hancock).

Recently, you’ve started asking a lot more questions and you will keep asking until we run out of answers. “What you doing?” “What you talking about?” “Why you doing that?” are all popular, along with “what did you say?” and “why did you say that?”

You come out with fantastic turns of phrase without meaning to be funny, which we relay to each other at the end of the day and marvel at how brilliant you are. You never cease to amaze us with your understanding and perspective of your world and I hope we’ll have our “little talks” for a long time to come.

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Baby T, Family, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

