play challenge #1: water

This year I’d like to do more organised play with Lucas. Too often I find myself at a loss as to how to entertain him, and falling back on the TV or his toys. I have so many ideas Pinned, I just need to get my butt in gear and try them out. I’m aiming to try one new activity a week, and take lots of photos!

DSC_0055Activity #1 was inspired by this ‘invitation to play’ from Learn with Play at Home. Invitations to play are fantastic for curious toddlers – basically you set up a load of stuff around a theme (which takes about five minutes), sit back, and watch your child engage with the activity. This water-based invitation to play held our children’s attention for about 45 minutes!

DSC_0022Lucas really enjoyed pouring water into various containers and then back into the washing up bowl. I put food colouring in some of the tubs of water, and the children quickly mixed them together!

DSC_0013They played really well together, sharing the equipment and talking about what they were doing. They progressed on to washing Lucas’s cars and plastic animals! We talked about giving the toys a bath and drying them off afterwards.

DSC_0034

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Baby T, Play Challenge, What we did and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to play challenge #1: water

  1. Great ideas! V cute! Xx

Leave a Reply

