the brown-eyed boy who changed my world for good

IMG_4053

Last week our eldest child turned three. Every parent says it – I can’t believe how quickly time passes now that I have children. I’m concurrently waiting impatiently for whatever phase they’re going through to pass, and wanting time to slow down so that I can relish their smallness.

I often think about how Lucas will feel about his childhood when he gets older. I imagine he won’t remember much about his first few years, such as when it was just us and him. I think this is a shame, but also for the best as I would hate him to feel like life was better before his sister and brother arrived!

What he won’t, can’t possibly know is how he changed our lives. That he gave us an incredible gift by teaching us to be his parents (good parents, we hope). That he inspired in us such intense love for him and for each other, cementing our family. That he is so wonderful, we wanted to have more children as we knew they’d be just as wonderful as him.

Every time he smiles at me, I see him as a newborn, a baby, a toddler, and this big boy in front of me. I cherish every cuddle from him, aware that one day he’ll be too embarrassed to cuddle his mum. I watch him with his younger brother and sister and my heart swells with joy to see his caring, nurturing, loving side grow.

Happy birthday, my wonderful, clever, strong boy. I love you so much too.

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Baby T, Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

