i get it now

Seven weeks ago, I began the Couch to 5K programme. It’s an eight-week, gradual training app with the aim of getting you fit to run a 5K. Three workouts a week, running for longer and longer each time.

Seven weeks ago, I couldn’t run for 60 seconds at a time. This evening, I ran continuously for 30 minutes – a distance of 2.5 miles.

I’ve never been very sporty. As a child, I had neither an interest in nor talent for the sports we played at school. Except rounders, because if I could hit the ball (and that was a big ‘if’), I could run. On Sports Days, I got picked for the 100m, because I could be fast, but only for a short time.

As an adult, I never understood why acquaintances enthused about running. Where were they running to? And for what purpose?

Now, I get it.

After just seven weeks, I’ve caught the running bug. I’m addicted to the endorphin rush that starts as I jog down our street, picks me up when I’m about to quit, and lasts for hours after I get home. I love the sense of achievement that comes as I run further, or faster, or for longer than I have before. I have renewed respect for my body: it is strong, it is capable, it is – as one of my friends eloquently put it – an instrument, rather than an ornament.

I enjoy my own company. Three times a week, I head away from my children and spend 30 minutes outside, in the fresh air, on my own. I listen to loud music, I think, I reflect on things. It’s sometimes the only time I am able to. It’s a release, a stressbuster, and I return to them a happier, calmer, better mum.

I love the sense of community. Geeking out about running with my friends: some who inspired me to start this journey, and some who have joined me along the way.

These are just a few reasons; there are many more that I can’t articulate yet, and I hope to discover more as I keep going. Next week, I’ll run my first 5K in preparation for the Race for Life, which will I’m doing to mark the 20-year anniversary of my mum’s death from breast cancer (http://www.justgiving.com/ellieracesforlife). After that, I plan to start a training programme to run a 10K. And after that…who knows?!

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to i get it now

  1. krf15 says:

    Well done, sissyme!! I am so proud of you. I’m thinking of starting up as well. xx

Leave a Reply

