jake

DSC_0254 DSC_0221 DSC_0218 DSC_0211 DSC_0178 DSC_0269I cannot believe that we used to call this little boy ‘the saddest baby in the world’. His first few weeks earthside were filled with sorrow – stemming, I am certain, from his very traumatic entry into our world and subsequent resuscitation. No one could settle him, not even me. He was only marginally happy when near his twin sister. He had a permanent sadface, a frown line I thought would be forever etched into his forehead.

The day after he was born, I thought we were going to lose him. I haven’t written or talked about those first few days in hospital much, because they were some of the most horrible. But he has come so far, that I sometimes feel I imagined those early days; that he has always been this happy, curious, jolly boy. It is a pleasure to hear him giggle – usually at his siblings – and I don’t take it for granted.

My wish for him is that he will always be this good-natured and easy to smile. My beautiful, happy tinyboy.

 

 

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Twins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to jake

  1. You have a beautiful family xx

  2. Debz says:

    He’s so cute! I didn’t realise the birth and next day had been so traumatic. Would it put you off recommending home birth? I always think jake smiles a bit like Simon pegg! With his whole face 🙂 xx

    • Not many people really know about it. Not at all. He likely would have died had we been in hospital for the birth, as they’d have broken his waters. His cord went through his waters to his placenta, fused to his sister’s, so breaking his waters would have removed his connection to the cord. No one knew this until he was born, so it was only because the birth was hands-off that he was OK.

      He was hospitalised for reasons unrelated to his birth, but was fine. Just a scary time.

      • Debz says:

        Sounds terrifying! My midwife kept repeating that ‘babies know how to be born’. I guess this is a good example. Such beautiful babies 😊

  3. Gemma says:

    Reading this has brought tears to my eyes, Polly was resuscitated too and I often think I have buried the trauma somewhere so deep down that when I talk about it it’s like I was there but it didn’t happen to us x jake is beautiful and that amazing smile lights up his whole face xxx

    • I’m so sorry to hear that, Gemma. If you ever want to chat, you know where I am x

      • Gemma says:

        Thanks Ellie,

        I love reading your posts, though do so with a hint of jealousy that you seem to manage 3 under 3 so perfectly well 🙂

        Maybe one day I’ll get round to writing my birth story which would probably be quite cathartic !

        X

Leave a Reply

