about a boy


Lucas, on the eve of your first day of school.

I write about you, my darling boy, and I could fill pages upon pages. You can be infuriating, challenging, frustrating. You are kind, thoughtful, inquisitive, clever. You teach us how to parent, and often how not to parent, and your younger siblings will thank you for that one day. You don’t have an easy ride, and I am sorry for that. But you are happy, and you know you are loved, and you love fiercely. 
There are so many things about you that remind me of me – and I’m sorry for those, too! You will start primary school tomorrow and we can’t wait to see how you deal with that adventure, although we are nervous for you as you will one day understand. Like me, you see things in black and white and you find any perceived injustice very hard to bear. I wonder how you will deal with this at school, and I hope it won’t hamper you. Like both of us, you have an incredible thirst for knowledge and information, and you are surpassing us greatly in your studies of dinosaurs. I think you will really enjoy learning new things at school and I’m sure you’ll be able to educate us in many areas!

You are growing up into a truly wonderful boy and my biggest hope is that you continue to be the happy, open-hearted child you are. We are not always the parents we want to be – sometimes we make mistakes – but I hope you know how much we love and adore you, and that we will always be here, watching and rooting for you. 

Here’s to your next adventure – may it be big, joyful, and full of wonder.

About Ellie Thouret

I'm an obsessive knitter based in the UK's North West. Passionate about good food, crafts, home decor and my family.
This entry was posted in Baby T and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to about a boy

  1. How did our babies grow up so fast!?! I feel like yesterday was April 2012!

Leave a Reply

